Welcome to London

I made it. I actually made it.

Something I only had dreamed would happen actually happened. I took an initiative, booked a flight, and went through with it. And I’m loving every second of it.

London, England, for those who don’t know, is a beautiful old city, with the same if not more modernity than any American city. The only difference being that there aren’t any “skyscrapers”, though plenty of 20+ story buildings for tourists to gawk at.

The people here are great. Everyone is each others “mate”. Everyone says “cheers”, instead of, thank you, which just sounds way more proper. They use terms like “top-up”, to refer to refilling your phone, credit, or tube card. Within the city, and even in my current neighborhood, Paddington, plenty of different languages can be heard within a few blocks walk. I’ve heard German, Arabic, Italian, and French being spoken in my general vicinity on the street.

Even cooler, the neighborhoods change in almost no time. In what I call downtown London, where all the famous tourist attractions are (Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, #9 Downing St., Big Ben/Parliament), everything is within a short walking distance, and there are plenty of tourist traps and expensive currency exchanges. But walk two blocks down a side street, and find a nice little Italian restaurant, or a local pub with Shepard’s pie or fish and chips.

And from Trafalgar Square, walk four or five blocks northwest, towards Picadilly Street, and all the sudden, everything changes. There are expensive French chocolate shops, wine bars, and clothing stores. It looks a lot like 5th Avenue in New York City, or the Millennium Mile in Chicago.

Now, back to the beginning. I flew overnight from New York to London, arriving at 10:35am local time. Not only did I have the great fortune of getting through security at JFK in record time (must have been six minutes), but once I boarded the flight, I got into a nice conversation with the man in front of me. We small talked and then talked about our own jobs (or in my case, my career aspirations). And before you know it, the Chief Data Scientist of a big data analytics company was offering me a trip to see a Chelsea football match (soccer will be referred to as football from here on out). Absolutely insane. However, not as insane as the man’s work travel. The flight to London was his 89th trans-Atlantic flight of 2012, and he was due to fly to Dubai from London today. Now that’s crazy.

After only a few hour sleep, and the trading of e-mails, I was dreadfully tired, but thanks to the Heathrow Express train, I was able to hop straight to Paddington in 15 short minutes. Unlike the main train station I know, Grand Central Terminal in Manhattan, the Paddington Train Station is not fully covered. Which is actually a good thing, as it lets fresh air into the station, and allows for an easy entrance and exit. It also has an incredibly beautiful high ceiling, with shops and stores in the lobby area before embarking on the platforms, which are straight ahead.

During my first eight days in London, I’m staying at the “Pride of Paddington“. It’s a brilliant little bed and breakfast kind of place. The main business is the pub downstairs, but they also have rooms available upstairs in hostel style. My room has three bunk beds, with three people (including myself) there currently. One of my roommates is a guy from Singapore, the other a girl from Italy.

My first day in London, I spent it mostly learning my new neighborhood, and trying my best to stay awake, to beat the effects of jet-lag. I picked up an Oyster card for the London Underground, aka the Tube, and a sim card for my smartphone, which now gives me a UK Phone Number (+447748533952)! I also chowed down at a local fish and chips joint, called Mickey’s. I had the “Cod” meal, and it was incredible. Literally a FULL COD, with fries. Suffice to say, I was full, and feeling quite well.

After checking into my room and getting settled in, I sauntered my way down Sussex Gardens, towards Hyde Park, which is one of the bigger parks in all of London. It’s absolutely beautiful there right now too, with the trees changing color all over the place. Lots of paths to walk, but also plenty of grass to play football, rugby, cricket, or just enjoy a Saturday in the park.

One of the cool things about walking around London is the signage. On the ground at every crosswalk, there are warning about which way to look for oncoming cars. It’s taken a little while for me to get used to turning right first, then left, when I cross the road. I would say though that at times it’s seemed like cars speed up when they see people crossing the street while there is a green. So keep an eye out!

Finally after grabbing dinner at the pub downstairs with my new Singaporean friend, I was pooped, and it was lights out for me.

So far on Day Two, I decided to do the tourist thing. I took the tube to St. James Park, walked over to Westminster, saw Big Ben and Parliament, and the River Thames, plus the London Eye, which is really just a very, very large Ferris wheel looking object. I was hoping it would actually have an eye, like Sauron’s eye, in it.

Just a few minutes down the road from the Westminster Bridge is Parliament street, passing #9 Downing, which is where the Prime Minister lives (I think it’s Hugh Grant right? Not that David Cameron guy.) From there it’s another few minutes and you’re suddenly at Trafalgar Square, which today was partially closed, thanks to the NFL – grrrrr – setting up a pep rally for New England Patriots’ and St. Louis Rams’ fans enjoyment on Saturday. Next to Trafalgar Square is the National Gallery, with beautiful art from the earliest moments of the British Empire to the present. They even have pictures of George Washington, who of course was born in the British Colony of Virginia. USA! USA! USA!

Nearby is “The Strand” which is a little area with lots of small restaurants and shops, all with bubbly people, attractive prices, and nice scenery.

A little farther north of Trafalgar (say that 10 times fast. Then do it again.) is the Mall, which is a long red-stone paved road leading the way to Buckingham Palace, the residence of Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II. Everywhere around the palace, objects are covered in gold, or at least a golden color, from the gates, monuments, to the palace itself. It’s a truly stunning sight, in addition to the fact that it is a massive place. The best part are the guards, who like the ones in front of Downing #9, stare straight ahead and never move a muscle, except when they walk, which makes the Ministry of Silly Walks look…well not so silly.

It’s been an amazing first two days in London for me. But of course, the real purpose of my trip was football, and that adventure begins tomorrow. If you have Fox Soccer Channel, tune in just before 10:00AM EST, in time for Arsenal vs. Queens Park Rangers. I’ll be at the Emirates, standing in one of the corners of the upper deck. And likely having the time of my life.

I’ll try and write posts as often as I can. Until then, Go Arsenal, and Go Hoosiers!

Follow Dan Karell on Twitter as he travels through Europe: @DanKarell15

 

About Daniel Karell

Veteran soccer journalist. Indiana University Class of 2012. BA in Journalism. Love my wife and dog.
This entry was posted in Daily Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment