A BIG Thank You to Everyone

Me in the Pardes of Hod Hasharon

Less than 48 hours from now, I’ll be back home in Mamaroneck, ending a one hundred and twenty five day adventure across Europe and Israel.

Nearly four months ago, I had no idea how my football trip would turn up. Now, looking back, I can admit that it succeeded beyond my wildest dreams. 16 football matches in eight countries, as well as two basketball games, and a hockey game in Sweden. Simply OUT OF THIS WORLD.

But as I smile, while reminiscing about the wonderful memories and experiences I’ve made, I can’t help but be so incredibly grateful for all my friends and family I saw along the way. So without further a do, I’m going to dedicate the rest of this post to you, my wonderful friends and family.

  • I’d first like to thank Mark Sear. As soon as I sat down on my red-eye flight to London, Mark, who sat in front of me, began to chat with me as though we had been friends for a lifetime. By the time the flight was set to take off, he had told me to get him my e-mail/phone number (which I did), and we’d eventually meet up again, and go to a Chelsea football match (which I did). Though he couldn’t make it to the game, he was still beyond kind enough to not only care about my future career in sports broadcasting/journalism, but gave me the ticket anyways, for free. The fact that all of this happened in the first few minutes of my trip was definitely a sign of great things to come.
  • I’d like to thank Al Amin from Singapore. The first guy I met in my hostel, ended up being a great guy to hang out with, exploring London, enjoying drinks at a pub, trying all of the delicious food on Edgeware road. Mate, you and I are going to have to meet up again in London, Milan, wherever, someday soon.
  • I’d like to thank Brenna Wilson and Priyanka Vohra, whom I met through the NSSA while I interned with the organization. Both of them spent time in London while studying abroad, as well as Brenna interning with NBC Sports in London during the 2012 Olympics. Brenna and Priyanka, you’re suggestions and things to watch out for, such as standing on the right side of the escalator in the Tube at all times, as well as good pubs to check out, was definitely appreciated. The three of us should meet up at the good ole Duke of Kendal someday. Maybe Jack Black will be there too?
  • I’d like to thank Ryan Patena. My old RA, “boss” while he was station manager, was working in London while I was around, and it was great to be able to see someone from the States while I was in England. Hope you’re enjoying Temecula.
  • I’d like to thank Rhiannon Noot, who I got to spend a weekend with in Canterbury/Ashford, and meet her awesome roommates and friends. It was absolutely wonderful to get to see you again, and to get out of the city for a couple of days and breathe the beautiful English countryside air, despite whatever you might think.
  • I’d like to thank my friend Annette, who gave me so many great suggestions for places to eat, and museums to see in Amsterdam, that my days were always full. I loved the eateries, Dutch culture, and of course the football, but thanks to you, I never felt like I was eating in some tourist trap in Dam Square.
  • I’d like to thank Paul from Glasgow, who stayed in the same hostel with me in Lisbon. After being away from English speakers for nearly a week, it was terrific to have someone to chat with, and even more than that, a hilarious Scottish dude. Seriously, what is better than that. Paul, if Celtic ever come to the States, I hope we’ll meet up. If not, see you in Glasgow someday.
  • I’d like to thank my friend Jeff Gordon, who helped me learn how to pronounciate enough words in Portuguese for me to survive there. Obrigado! (I knew that one already though…)
  • I’d like to thank Lucia Lorenz, a Hoosier native in Germany, who I got to stay with for 10 days, in Lauterbach, Frankfurt, and Köln. I had such an awesome time learning about German culture, drinking gluhwein (there isn’t much better in this world during the winter), fussball, walking through the cities, and more importantly for me, I was so happy to have someone to help me translate, or find out where something is, or just to have another friend to talk with. Prost!
  • I’d like to thank my Aunt Fay, Uncle Henrik, and his daughters Katarina and Helena, for taking care of me while I was in Sweden. Fay and Henrik gave me a place to stay in their apartment, and Katarina and Helena were both had us over for dinner on a couple of occasions, and were super helpful. And thanks to Helena, a package that was nearly lost in the Swedish mail system has successfully made it to my home.
  • I’d like to thank Mariona from Barcelona, who is wise beyond her years, and has seen more of the world than I ever likely will. Also, Catalá is really cool.
  • I’d like to thank Katie Vaughn, who like Jeff beforehand, successfully helped give me a quick guide on how to survive in Italy, which is a beautiful country, with complicated people, but a pretty nice language too. Grazie!
  • I’d like to thank all of my relatives who I stayed with in Israel, Ellie, Daniel, and Amy David, Pnini and Shminu Ofir, Zohar and Eti Ofir, Ronit Berman, and Sharon, Yehudah, and Golan Berniker/Halpern. The fact that you all opened your homes to me is one of the most wonderful things in the world, and I am eternally grateful to have such great family.
  • I’d like to thank my cousin Yonatan, for giving me an extra sim card he had, and saving me the hassle of having to buy one somewhere myself. Really, that was the clutch move of the trip.
  • I’d like to thank my countless friends I saw/stayed with in Israel. I couldn’t have been happier to see or meet you all, and of course, any time you are in New York, or wherever I am, you all have a place to stay, and a drink on me!
  • I’d like to thank my friend Hadar, for being such an awesome friend. Though we have only had a chance to meet on three of my trips to Israel, this trip we got to make the most out of my two months in Israel, hang out a ton, get plenty of drinks together, and overall have a blast. There’s always a special place in my heart for you, and I can’t wait until we can hang again.
  • I’d like to thank my friend Eitan, who I have known since the two of us were 15. After only seeing him a couple of times since he made Aliyah in 2009, getting to stay in his apartment in Neve Tzedek during my final couple of weeks in Israel. Even better Eitan’s roomates are as cool as they come. Daniel and Ida, I wish I could have stayed longer/lived there in another life, but for now, it’s not to be. Also, Humus and Pita 10 times a day is the best.
  • And finally, last but not least, I have to thank my parents, not only for their support of my trip (no resistance from them), but that they raised me right. I wouldn’t be the guy I am without the lessons and values I learned from them, and a big part of that helped keep me out of trouble in Europe and Israel. Thank you mom and dad, from the bottom of my heart.

Now, I must depart the country of my people, but new adventures await, in America, in Europe, in South America, who knows. The future is wide open, anything can happen. And hopefully next year, I’ll be back in Israel! יאללה ביי

About Daniel Karell

Veteran soccer journalist. Indiana University Class of 2012. BA in Journalism. Love my wife and dog.
This entry was posted in Daily Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment